SGA Elections Results Roll In

Miami Dade College students elected new Student Government Association officers at all eight campuses on April 14.

Voting took place from April 11to 13; elected officers will be sworn in on May 1. They will serve during the 2011-2012 academic year.

Positions such as president, vice president, secretary, treasurer and public relations director vary by campus.

“At first I was stunned,”said Jessica Alpizar, who was elected vice president at Kendall Campus. “It’s hard to take it all in.”

The newly appointed officers have had experience working alongside current SGA presidents and advisers to prepare themselves for their new positions.

“We start planning during the summer with our team and adviser to find out a theme for the school year and put together ideas,” said Edwin Ramos, who was elected treasurer at InterAmerican Campus.

Ruben Gomez, who was elected president at Kendall Campus, said he looks forward to the challenge.

“I need to be the voice of the students,” Gomez said. “I would love to not just unify Kendall Campus but MDC as a whole.”

Elected SGA Officers
2011-2012 Academic School Year

Kendall Campus    305-237-1644
President- Ruben Gomez
Vice President- Jessica Alpizar

Wolfson Campus 305-238-3870
President- Bianca Gomez
Vice President- Daniela Galofre
Secretary- Rosa Villa
Treasurer- Darryl Arcales

InterAmerican Campus 305-237-6184
President- Alain Suarez
Vice President- Fereda Frazer
Treasurer- Edwin Ramos

West Campus 305-237-8904
President- Mayra Medina
Vice President- Maria Echeverri

Medical Center Campus 305-237-4209
President- Emily Ibanez
Vice President- Kamamori Gonzalez
Secretary- Theda Sturrup

Hialeah Campus 305-237-8736
President- Andres Barreto
Vice President- Jonathan Vanegas

Homestead Campus 305-237-5065
President- Rolanda Schand
Vice President- Jenny Normil
Secretary- Brittany Lee
Treasurer- Brooke Ann
Historian- Sofia Castro

North Campus 305-237-1644
President- Naggine Georges
Vice President- Jamie Harris
Secretary- Beilin Diaz
Treasurer- Michael Ward Jr.
Public Relations Director- Geoffrey Evans